Top 10 Nobel Peace Prize Winners. Biography

News / Tuesday, 21 November 2023 07:28

Ten of the greatest Nobel Peace Prize winners

gorbachev 1. Mikhail Gorbachev (1990) For the transition of Soviet Communism to democracy and allowing freedom for Eastern Europe.

Nelson_Mandela 2. Nelson Mandela (1993). Awarded jointly with F W de Klerk, Nelson Mandela was awarded the peace prize for his role in ending apartheid and making a peaceful transition to full democracy.

MotherTeresa_ 3. Mother Teresa (1979) For her work in serving the poor in India and other parts of the world.

Woodrow_Wilson 4. Woodrow Wilson (1919) For his role in founding the League of Nations, the forerunner of the United Nations.

amnesty-international 5. Amnesty International (1977) For its work in preventing torture and abuses of human rights.

Desmond_tutu 6. Desmond Tutu (1984). For his role in non violently opposing the apartheid system.

Martin_Luther_King_Jr 7. Martin Luther King (1964). For the peaceful opposition to racial discrimination.

dalai-lama 8. The 14th Dalai Lama (1989) For peaceful resistance to Chinese rule in Tibet.

shirin-ebadi 9. Shirin Ebadi. (2003) Iranian lawyer working for human rights in Iran.

Kofi_Annan 10. Kofi Annan (2001) United Nations Secretary General from 1997-2007. For his work at promoting peace and conflict resolution. Personally great skills in mediation and remaining calm.

Citation: Pettinger, Tejvan. “Top Ten Nobel Peace Prize winners”, Oxford, UK – Published 27th November 2014. Last updated 18 February 2018.

Peace, They Say: A History of the Nobel Peace Prize

Peace, They Say: A History of the Nobel Peace Prize, the Most Famous and Controversial Prize in the World at Amazon